Originally Posted by Chise
Actually, they can't. Once LSU won, that pretty much eliminated TAMU. If Bama loses, LSU probably represents the West by virtue of being the highest ranked team.
Yet another post where I reference 2008. When the Big XII had their Texas/Okl/Tech one loss debate, they yielded Oklahoma as the winner because they decided in their rules that the highest ranked team in the BCS would go. All other conference tie breakers would have yielded Texas as the representative in that situation. SEC goes by head to head of the top two if they are within 5 spots of each other. So if A&M is #3 and LSU is #5 then LSU goes, but if A&M is #3 and LSU #10 and Bama #11 then A&M goes. LSU isnt going to be more than five spots back so LSU has it essentially locked.