AL vs GA: Pass Interference call - Football Forum - NFL, CFL & College Football Forums
Reply

Old 12-02-2012, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Looking to be drafted
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Seraph is on a distinguished road
Default AL vs GA: Pass Interference call

So, the rule is that pass interference cannot be called when the ball is uncatchable.
In this game, during the 3rd quarter at 4:25, GA gets called on pass interference but the ball was clearly uncatchable.
However, the GA guy was pulling on the AL player's shirt, so because the pass interference caused the ball to become uncatchable, is that why the refs are allowed to call it?
Seraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old 12-02-2012, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
FBF Pro Bowler
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,174
Kinnick is a jewel in the roughKinnick is a jewel in the roughKinnick is a jewel in the rough
Default

I believe the call was that it was tipped at the line of scrimmage and not uncatchable. If its tipped, you can level someone, no such thing as pass interference.
Kinnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Looking to be drafted
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Seraph is on a distinguished road
Default

I am talking about a totally different play where there WAS pass interference called.
Not a play where pass interference WAS NOT called.

Is there not an answer to my question? Why did you point out a totally different play?
Even if you couldn't recall the exact play I'm talking about, you could have at least taken the situation I described and given a ruling for it. I didn't ask about the tip call that didn't result in pass interference.
Seraph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
FBF All Star Running Back
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 941
Chise will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraph View Post
So, the rule is that pass interference cannot be called when the ball is uncatchable.
In this game, during the 3rd quarter at 4:25, GA gets called on pass interference but the ball was clearly uncatchable.
However, the GA guy was pulling on the AL player's shirt, so because the pass interference caused the ball to become uncatchable, is that why the refs are allowed to call it?
Whether the ball was uncatchable or not if he's pulling the jersey, it could've been called pass interference.....or at least holding.
__________________
I've always wondered if stupidity and ignorance were "learned arts" or if it just came natural to those.
Chise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 08:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
FBF Super Moderator
Photobucket
 
Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Where ever I want to be
Posts: 2,910
Viper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud ofViper has much to be proud of
Default

If the ball is uncatchable they won't call it, but if the defender changes the the movement of the receiver, i.e. slowing him down or pushing him of course then they will call it.
__________________

Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
FBF Pro Bowler
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,174
Kinnick is a jewel in the roughKinnick is a jewel in the roughKinnick is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraph View Post
I am talking about a totally different play where there WAS pass interference called.
Not a play where pass interference WAS NOT called.

Is there not an answer to my question? Why did you point out a totally different play?
Even if you couldn't recall the exact play I'm talking about, you could have at least taken the situation I described and given a ruling for it. I didn't ask about the tip call that didn't result in pass interference.
I think you need to read the rule book section four, paragraph three, bi-law seven.

Also, pass interference is a judgement call and this is big boy football not a ballet. Let them play.
Kinnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
FBF All Star Running Back
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 573
MountaineersFan is on a distinguished road
Default

Here's the deal.....if the pass is not catchable, there is no PI. If the PI causes the pass to be uncatchable, you can still be called for PI (as it is a judgement call). If you grab receiver (body or jersey) whether the pass is catchable or not, you can be called for defensive holding.
MountaineersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


VerticalSports
Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums
Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios